A picture is worth a thousand words

Of all the things I’ve ever brought into my office, nothing has generated as much conversation as this:

IMG_0463

It’s a painting that my daughter did a few years back and had tucked under her bed because it didn’t turn our the way she wanted. I know.

It almost never fails that someone will ask me about it and I end up talking about it, my daughter’s talent, and yeah my appreciation for comic books/graphic novels.

The painting is a great ice breaker with new people – we chat about it for a few minutes and then we get down to business. I brought it in for me, to have something to remind me of my daughter, but now I realize it offers so much more.

I recently read that you shouldn’t over-personalize your work area. And I agree, if by over-personalize you mean covering an entire wall with photos of your kids and/or pets. Especially the pets.

But come on, we are people…working in tiny cubicles…all freakin’ day long. I think we deserve to add a little bit of flair.

Just ask Peter Gibbons:
Human beings were not meant to sit in little cubicles staring at computer screens all day, filling out useless forms and listening to eight different bosses drone on about about mission statements.” (Office Space)

So my point is that I could hang my university degree or my CHRP designation on the office wall, but that says so little about me and leaves even less to say.

Leave a Reply

