HR Hibernation

images

My office is situated in such a way that I have no direct view of the outside world. Oh I’m not complaining that I don’t have a window…I mean, I’m still thrilled to have an actual door. The downside is that unless I make a point of going to an area with a view or (*gasp*) leave the office for lunch, I really don’t know what is going on outside until I leave for the day.

And this was a bit of an embarrassment the other day. I was talking to a candidate on the phone and we were joking about people’s behaviour and he said, “It must be the sunshine – it’s making everyone giddy”.

I was stunned.

It was sunny outside?! It was cloudy when I came into the building…when did this happen? How is it that I didn’t know this had happened and I now I was missing it. How flippin’ pathetic was I?

And so it goes. We huddle down in our area and do good work. We generate, report, communicate, and produce like hell, but we remain oblivious to what’s happening outside our group, our immediate work area.

How many things are we missing? How many sunshine or snow storm moments have come and gone while I was comfortablly sheltered in my office. How flippin’ pathetic is that?

While I dream of hibernating the winter away like the bears: avoiding the cold and having to scrounge for food, I need to remind myself that there is so much going on that it would be a shame to miss it. A damn shame.

Leave a Reply

