Managing expectations

There’s been this great little HR hashtag on Twitter (#HRTells) that @Mjcarty started up calling HR people to complete the thought: ‘You know you work in HR when….

Have you seen it…funny (and sadly true) stuff.

I was going to put in a few additional thoughts, but then I couldn’t manage to reduce my thoughts to less than 140-characters, hence the post.

So here goes…You know you work in HR when…you tell your mother: “I wasn’t trying to deter you from coming over, I was trying to manage expectations”.

I seriously said that yesterday.

In all fairness, the back story on this situation is beyond even blog length. We are talking a novel. Maybe even a series of novels. Maybe even a series of novels which will be madee into movies, and even break the final novel into two movies. Yeah, we are talking Twilight calibre here.

We are who we are who we are. There isn’t too much difference between me at home and me at work. This is something that might surprise and worry both my family and my colleagues, but what I mean to say is that I don’t speak much differently and I certainly approach situations in the same way.

I recruit and it’s a big deal to me that candidates and new hires have a relatively realistic idea of what they are getting into. We are a small organization so if I were to do a smarmy sales pitch that got someone into the door, only to have it all be embellished, well…odds are I’m going to be standing next to them at the coffee machine one morning and that could make for awkward small talk.

The recruiting team (the hiring managers and I) talk about the organization, the job, the culture, the physical layout, the expectations…but we leave room for the candidate/new hire to make there own opinion about the situation.

This is important. There’s being honest and then there’s being too honest. Too honest involves over-sharing and probably infusing too much of your own experiences and opinions into the pitch. Like, it’s not necessarily a great idea to promote how many people have hooked up at your organization…maybe it’s true, but I’m thinking that for most people…not a selling point.

And so with my family, I do the same thing. I do try to say things without hurting anyone’s feelings, but I don’t own a pair of kid gloves. I just want everyone to be on the same page and not come expecting a fancy sit-down dinner when the reality is that we will likely be eating burgers in front of the television watchin hockey play-offs…

Like I said, “managing expectations” and providing a realistic preview.

And that’s how you know you work in HR.

Leave a Reply

