Looking for signs

This was how my morning rolled out today:

“Woke up, fell out of bed
Dragged a comb across my head
Found my way downstairs and drank a cup
And looking up, I noticed I was late
Found my coat and grabbed my hat…”*

And then I drove away, realized I had forgotten my bus pass, returned home to get it, drove off again, went to get my lip balm and realized that it was in my other purse. Along with my pass for work. Turned around AGAIN, and collected said items and then finally headed into work.

As I drove in and hit every. single. red. light, I started to ask myself. Were these signs? Was the universe trying to tell me something or prevent me from being somewhere that I shouldn’t be? Like, oh I don’t know, at work?

I mean come on. I’m generally a very organized and together person in the morning, so for me to forget things not once, but twice….and then get stuck behind every slow driver…and hit all the red lights…and miss the bus by seconds….

Doesn’t that seem just a little too “coincidental” to you?!

We have this need to find a pattern and a bigger picture in these types of scenarios. Seemingly individual everyday occurrences which we normally wouldn’t even blink at, when combined, suddenly become a conspiracy, a message, a sign.

Like wearing black at work, or carrying around a red-coloured file folder, or having your door closed throughout the day, or scheduling a meeting on a Tuesday afternoon in a certain room.

I have been told both directly and indirectly, that the presence of any of the above has set off alarm bells with employees that something big is imminent. The combination of all of them means it’s practically guaranteed.

Le sigh.

I really hope that these same employees put as much time, effort, analysis and attention to detail into their actual work.

And I would hate to think that I’m THAT predictable.

For the record:
• I wear black 4 out of 5 days
• I like bright coloured file folders
• I close my door when I’m conducting phone screens
• Tuesdays are good days to find people in the office and meet with them

I think the real sign is why are you looking for “something big” in the small things?

Are you concerned about your work performance? Are you concerned about rumours that you are hearing? Are you feeling (dare I say it) disengaged? If so, then get informed – ask questions, talk to your manager, and work harder at your job.

Just stop torturing yourself by trying to crack the secret dress code, behavioural profile, and strategic scheduling techniques of your Manager and HR person.

Because sometimes a rough start to the day is just a rough start to the day. And any attempt to make it more than this is probably just a “sign” that you wanted to stay home today and were looking for an excuse to do so.

Hypothetically, of course.

*(song lyrics: “A Day in the Life” by the Beatles)

Leave a Reply

