Quiet leadership

It’s probably not a big surprise that I am a hockey fan. Sorry, an “ice hockey” fan (apparently it’s good forum to specify the obvious).

I support my home town team, but the truth is I just like a good game. And even when my team gets eliminated, I still follow what’s going on because I really hate being behind at the water cooler in the morning.

That being said, I don’t particularly like the Chicago Blackhawks, and if I never heard the name Jonathan Toews again it would not bug me (yes, I know he’s a “good Canadian kid”, but like Crosby…enough already…how many hockey saviours can we friggin have?!)

But I read this article this morning and think it’s definitely worth sharing.

Oh sure it’s about hockey, but it’s also about so much more. It’s about leadership and more specifically the hidden leadership that exists in a team.

Sports to business analogies are generally cliché but sometimes they make sense. This is one of them.

I’ve often wondered who leads the leaders – who motivates them, who calls them out when they are losing focus..you know, the things leaders do for us. And my suspicion was that it wasn’t Tony Robbins.

There is public and acknowledged leadership – the kind that wears a letter on a jersey and then there’s the quiet and unrecognized leadership – the kind that prods you in the back when you are slowing down or looks you straight in the eye and tells you what no one else wants to.

Maybe it was friendship that was the driving force that had Seabrook stepping up to Toews. Yes, maybe it was a factor, but clearly there’s a strength in bring able to stand up to your team leader and tell him to put his big boy pants on.

I like this article because it reinforces the need for leadership at all levels and the fact that everyone needs to be accountable to someone. In this case, it’s to his team. Because ultimately they have a job to do and it is to lead by example.

Leave a Reply

