HR according to the stars

So I’m a Scorpio. 

If you have done any kind of reading on astrology then you know that by virtue of my sign, I am a sexy bitch. 

For those of you who know me personally…you can stop laughing any time now.

Every time I read a description of my astrological sign, I laugh.  Oh sure, there’s definitely things that resonate with me – I am not an open-book and I like to keep my personal life personal…that air of mystery and secrecy, well perhaps that explains my why my first blog was written under a pseudonym. 

However, I love this description:

“The Scorpio woman should never be taken lightly. They aren’t flaky, fluffy, or helpless creatures by any stretch of the imagination. Direct, and brilliantly sharp, Scorpio women only focus on the fundamental essence of any issue and disregard the superfluous. They like clear endings and beginnings, with no grey areas in between. A Scorpio woman wants her certainties to remain just so – absolutely rock steady and assured. She wants to understand everything and knows how to craft just the right question to obtain the answers she seeks.”  (www.cafeastrology.com)

I’m seriously thinking of adding that to my CV. 

What I will leave off is that apparently I think about sex 24/7.  Ummm….yeah, that’s where I invoke my secrecy clause. 

I will also try to counter the well-known fact that we (collective Scorpios) will take you down if we are crossed.  I mean it..Down.

Is it so ridiculous for me to consider listing my sign and all that it comes with it on my CV?  Yes? 

What about my 4-letter Meyers-Briggs key-to-everything-I-am  code? 

What about my colour? 

My generation?  I mean, I am a proud card-carying member of GenX.

I’ve previously blogged about the dangers of relying on labels here so I won’t go off on another rant, but I do want to draw attention to labels and how you might be reading too much into candidates’ CVs.

I’ve sat across the table from many a manager who has provided me with a dead serious analysis and rationale for why they want to or don’t want to meet a candidate based on the nuances of their CV.  You know the spaces between the lines. 

In some cases, they have invested the level of “investigatory” skills typically seen only by people on an episode of CSI or jealous spouses.

Honestly. Trying to predict what a candidate’s predisposition and personality will be like based on the program they studied or the fact that they played team sports, or the fact that they have held multiple jobs over the past few years is a joke.  

If you want to consider something you see as a “warning sign” or an area to inquire into…then I get it, but if you want to rule someone out because you don’t like the fact that they used the word coordinate instead of administer, well then get over yourself.

The reality is that you will have to meet the person. 

I know it takes time.  I know there will be a lot of misses, but if you truly want to determine compatibility, then you are going to have to talk to the person. 

Otherwise, you might as well consult a “Work Sign compatibility Chart” and ensure you add that all future candidates must be a water sign.

7 thoughts on “HR according to the stars

  1. Laughing my ass off you sexy bitch… What a wonderful write. Thanks for sharing even though I know it was hard to divulge such personal things!

  2. Pingback: Best Blogs 30 August 2013 | ChristopherinHR

Leave a Reply

