Never mind who’s driving the bus – who’s watching for speedtraps?

I have a confession to make, so all you law enforcement-types who might be reading my blog (hey, it could happen) take note: sometimes I speed when I drive.  Sometimes I do not come to a full and complete stop at stop signs.  I have even neglected to signal on occasion.

First of all, I’m not  bragging.  I have fortunately never been given a ticket, which is not to say that I haven’t been stopped…no wait, I did get one speeding ticket.  In New York State.  And it was my mom’s fault. And btw, State Troopers are waaaaay more intimidating than police officers.

But I digress.

Where I was going with this is that yes, I have at times exceeded or not fully adhered to the laws of the road, but I do not do this in residential areas, school zones, blind curves, or any other areas that would be incredibly risky for other people.

And so it is with HR.

There is this perception that HR carries around the great book of employment laws and is constantly hammering on the brakes. I know that I sometimes feel that way when managers come to me with their suggestions and ideas of how to proceed or deal with employees.  In fact, I use to feel like HR’s role was to stop the car, pull over to the side of the road and figure things out before moving forward,  But I’ve since realized that it possible to keep moving along, all the while getting people to slow down a bit to make sure we are, in fact, on the right road, and then proceed.

A typically meeting these days  generally starts with, “I understand where you are coming from and why you want to do that; however, have you considered that A,B or C might happen. What about if you tried…”

It’s like driving lessons with my daughter. I don’t want to tell her what to do (not hug the curb), but I do want to point out that there is a cyclist who may or may not appreciate losing their left arm if she doesn’t move over. So I get her to slow down , keep moving, adjust as she goes, but all the while, I have my hand hovering over the emergency brake.

I don’t think that there’s ever a lack of volunteers when it comes to finding someone to drive the bus – in fact, there’s probably too many people who feel they should be in the driver’s seat.  Me, I want to know who knows where the dangerous curves and speedtraps are, is willing to give you advance notice of these, and has their hand hovering over the emergency brake.  Just in case.

Leave a Reply

