Plagiarizing is the sincerest form of flattery

It’s often said that there are no original ideas – that everything we do is just a version of something that someone else has said or done. And likely, they took inspiration (or blatantly copied) from someone too.

Just ask Shia LaBeouf.

I believe it goes back all the way back to the cavemen or the people in biblical times, depending what you believe. I mean, how else can we explain the resurgence of the Paleo diet, hellooooo…

So it goes without saying that me actually writing a blog was inspired by others. In fact, my path of blogging anonymously for 6 years and then emerging as a “real” person just over a year ago is very similar to what other HR bloggers have done. I wasn’t setting out to copy them – I just happened to be on the same path. That’s okay.

So back to the thought of using other people’s ideas. I have been reading about a movie being shown at the Sundance Film Festival called 52 Tuesdays, which as the title implies…is about 52 consecutive Tuesdays in the life of a fictional 16-year girl and the challenges of her changing family. The film actually takes place over a one year time frame, and captures a day in the life.

So to keep me on track with my blog and my development, I have decided to bastardize the concept of 52 Tuesdays and take advantage of my now publicly known unproductive Tuesday mornings to record what’s going on that week. This, of course, would be in addition to my regularly inconsistent posts.

I’m trying to come up with a clever title for this feature..and quite honestly 52 Tuesdays would be perfect, but I might need to dig a bit deeper. I am very much open to suggestions – so fire away.

If I use your idea, I promise to give you the credit. Even if we both know that you probably got it from someone else.

3 thoughts on “Plagiarizing is the sincerest form of flattery

  1. I like this concept. Since ‘new ideas’ are often just old ideas in a different font, why not go with ‘A Year of Tuesdays’? Or, if you want to get slightly less literal, maybe it could be ‘A Year of Second Chances’ in that Tuesdays represent a second opportunity to start the week off well if you bungle Monday (I find that it’s alarmingly easy to bungle Mondays). Unless you’re one of those people who think the week starts on Sunday, in which case you’re on your own…

    • Jane, I really like your suggestions…especially the one about just using a different font. I also like the idea of a Monday do-over or second chance… I also operate with the belief that the week starts on Mondays, as proven by my Sunday-night sulks.

      Great ideas to mull over!

  2. Pingback: Happy New Year! | Accidental HR

Leave a Reply

