Vacation time

20140201-053538.jpg

The two sides of Ruby

This week I’m away on vacation, but I don’t want to start making excuses for missing a Tuesday entry already.  I’ll wait at least until Tuesday #33 before I do that.

In my head I’m a very well-traveled person.  I have imagined visiting places all over the world – from beach-side resorts where I do very little to small villages where I rent a place for months and just live there.  I do weekend trips to cosmopolitan cities – skipping the trendy tourist haunts to find the really cool places.  I stay in mountain side chalets, tiki huts, luxury hotels, castles, and other people’s homes.

The reality is that my travels have been extremely limited.  For a variety of reasons and excuses (time, money, family obligations, fear), I have not pursued travel.  I believe that part of the reason is that I’m certain that the reality will not meet my built-up expectations.  I would be frustrated, tired, and unwilling to relax in a way that allows things to just happen.  The other part of it is the cost – I’m the household accountant and when it comes to making a decision on where to allocate funds, travel just isn’t as high on the list.

However, every once in awhile I do get an opportunity.  So this week finds me in Arizona. Can I just say that if I had to make a list of the top 50 places I would like to visit in the world, Arizona would not be on it.  No disrespect intended to the state and people of Arizona, but it’s just a fact.

This is what I left at home:

If you can't have fun alienating your neighbours with snow - what good is winter?

If you can’t have fun alienating your neighbours with snow – what good is winter?

This is what I came to:

I was told that Arizona looks like Mars...I thought they were exaggerating.

I was told that Arizona looks like Mars…I thought they were exaggerating.

Culture shock doesn’t even begin to describe how I’m feeling.

I think that’s going to be the key for me. Just go with it and see where it takes me. Be aware, plan what I can, and ride the sand storm (I would have said wave, but as you can imagine…not too many waves is the desert)

I also think that this going to be the key for me in my future career – have plans, follow through but avoid developing some glamorized idea of what setting out on my own will be like.

Nothing is worse than than when you waste your time and energy trying to re-create a postcard picture instead of taking your own selfie.

Leave a Reply

