Machinery Engagement

Random Thoughts

I am going to start this off by saying that I have absolutely no idea what this post is about. So, if you are the type of person who is concerned about wasting their time – I highly recommend that you move on.

On the other hand, if you are the type of person who does like to waste time, then I’m not entirely sure that I can avoid the possible insinuation that my blog is the kind of place to go to when you want to kill some time.

Just kidding – I don’t care. There are really not that many things that get me riled up or insulted (unless you are related to me, in which case just about everything riles me up and is a potential insult).

It’s true. I’m calm. I’m collected.

I have probably mentioned this before, but I live in a rural community which I love. However, there are some slight inconveniences like not having indoor plumbing or electricity. Okay, that might be a slight exaggeration, but we do have a well and septic tank. And if the power goes out – we can’t use either.

We also have a sump pump that really only gets used this time of year when the snow starts to melt (yes, it actually does go away) and the ground thaws. So essentially we have a hole in our basement floor that I would like to imagine leads to some cavernous place a la Goonies, but in reality it is just a hole full of water.

When all is well in the world, the sump pump…well, it pumps. It removes the water from the hole to the surface and not into our basement. On a bad day…well, the water doesn’t get removed and we have the beginnings of a fountain in our crawl space.

And that was my Saturday. On a fluke I went to the backroom to look for something, which I have since forgotten what it was, and noticed that the entire back wall area was water. Awesomesauce.

Hours of moving crap that I don’t know why we have, cleaning, and a new sump pump later…and we were back in business. Things are a bit damp, but at least the water is going where it should.

So it got me thinking that this lowly and seriously unappreciated piece of machinery – the sump pump – it vital to us. And yet we never check in on it..occasionally we glance in to make sure it’s still upright, doesn’t sound like it is burning out, or that water is flowing in the wrong direction. However, it is extremely easy to not bother…to just assume that it’s okay and that it will always be there do what it is supposed to do.

Until it doesn’t. And then you find yourself wearing rubber boots and mopping up a mess – not realizing how much of an impact one piece of equipment can have on your time and your energy – not to forget the potential damage.

Giving my sump pump a little bit of recognition

Giving my sump pump a little bit of recognition

So that’s my story and my blog post.

I really wish I could come up with some sort of clever HR or management analogy that would work, but I’m coming up dry.

One thought on “Machinery Engagement

  1. Reminds me of David D’Souza’s clever #moreleadershipquotes tweet from a few days ago “Tell me and I will forget, teach me and I will remember, automate it and I really don’t care unless it breaks”. Totally applies to work processes and systems that are out of sight, out of mind until something goes awry…Glad you’re drying out 🙂

Leave a Reply

