The unicorn candidate

A quick glance through my blogs posts will reveal that I have a tendency to focus on and write about the things that irritate me. Do I think it’s my purpose in life to point out the failings of others? Do I have to be as judgmental as I am? Do I think the world would be a better place if everyone else were more like me?

Of course not.

But be honest with yourself. If you are a regular reader of my blog – do you come for the unicorns, rainbows and cupcakes? Are you looking for quotes that are worthy of a motivational poster?

Of course not.

There is a mutual understanding that you are here to read my take on things and I’m going to deliver that.

I try to go as far as Sarcasm, but not all the way to Snark. Snark is just mean and petty. Sarcasm for me is like two glasses of wine…both make me feel like I’m a pretty damn witty person.

However, even I am capable of seeing good and I am more than willing to share. Especially when it comes to recruitment, which is my regular whipping post for all things evil.

It’s true.

Most aspects of recruitment make me feel like I’m being subjected to some social experiment designed to test my sanity and patience. And this is generally the result of candidates who blatantly disregard the process/system because they read some terrible HR-blogger advice that you should break all the rules.

However, there are some gems out there and this post is about one of them.

I had the good fortune of screening and interviewing a candidate who was good and really keen, but not the right person for the job at the time. And when I told him this, he asked if he could keep in touch with me because he really wanted to work with us. I said yes, but thought…great, more phone calls to avoid.

He did keep in touch with me on a regular, but respectful basis. His updates included news about what he was up to personally and career wise. He asked good questions about what kind of training or reading might be useful, should another position come available. He found a great balance between staying on my radar and not being completely annoying. His emails were never pushy and I never resented having to answer them.

When an opening became available – he was the first person I contacted.

He now works for us and I am told he is showing incredible potential and commitment in the role. This is really not a surprise to me because he showed incredible potential and commitment in his approach to his job search. I mean, he should be writing a blog advising candidates on what to do.

It’s not very often that I am without a snappy comment about a situation.

It’s about as rare as unicorns eating rainbow-coloured cupcakes. Or the candidate that does it right.

Leave a Reply

