Generally speaking

One of the most difficult questions for me to answer is in what areas to do want to develop, learn or want training.

It’s not for lack of wanting to develop, but rather from a fear of boxing myself in. I have a hard time choosing – I want to learn and dabble in just about all areas.

Of course there are things I prefer to do more than others. I mean, I am happy to watch from the sidelines when the compensation team hits the field; however, that doesn’t mean I don’t want to understand the rules of the game or player stats.

And then there are areas that I dive in and don’t climb out of those waters until I’m seriously waterlogged and have prune fingers.

Every Christmas (well to be truthful it’s really in August) my mother starts hounding me about gift ideas. I refuse to cooperate until around mid-October and even then I’m stingy. Perhaps this speaks to some lingering adolescent petulance (and that might be the case), but it’s also because I get almost paralyzed by coming up with a few ideas.  I don’t even know what I want to get myself…how can I possible tell someone else what I want them to get me.

I’ve been very frank about my feelings around Christmas, so you can only imagine how my head spins around performance objective setting time.  It is really challenging for me because it’s just so damn hard to narrow my choices down. How do I pick only a few – there’s so much out there ?

I often wondered whether it would be better to specialize or remain a generalist in HR. I had an inkling that I should find some key area, latch on to it, and rock the shit out of it. After all, “generalist” sounds so sale, so ordinary, so middle of the road.   So I made my pro / cons lists, weighed my options, evaluated my motivational level, and did a bit of soul-searching and realized that I’m cool with staying in the Generalist role.

After all, as The Pretenders so aptly put it, “in the middle of the road you see the darndest things”.

Leave a Reply

