Shooting myself in the foot

I was hesitant to open my blog, because it’s been so long and I had the same feeling I have when I open a Tupperware dish that has been sitting in the back of my fridge for months. I know it’s going to be bad, but just how bad…well that’ s the unknown isn’t.

So, as with the leftover sauce that I told myself I would eat the next day, it’s been months and there is a layer of mould and funky smell coming from this blog.  I attribute it partially to amount of time that has gone by and partially to the topic.  I mean, HR does go bad very quickly.

In fact, and this is not meant as disrespect to the many great bloggers out there, but I have not read an HR post in months.  I attribute it partially to the amount of time that I have and partially to the topic.  I mean, HR does get repetitive very quickly.

I have never really seen the appeal to most of the reality shows out there…Big Brother, The Bachelor, the whatever….I just don’t enjoy watching people intentionally put themselves into situations that make them look stupid and then act like they have somehow been wronged.  And the worst thing about reality shows is the insidious viral factor.  It’s not enough to have one version, we have to have spin-offs and the god-foresaken celebrity version.

And that brings me back to HR blogs.

(You can probably see where I am going with this, and at the risk of unintentionally insulting people, I will leave it at that.)

I mean, I am not shitting on HR blogs.  I am just saying that there is really only a limited amount of things that can be said about it…and a lot of people are tying to come up with new ways of saying it.  So a quick scan of my reader can feel like scrolling the tv channel guide…300 channels and not much on.

Of course, this could just be an extension of my increasingly jaded view about organized HR ,certification, and the need to up the ante to continue to be part of a club that is slowly becoming less relevant to me.

I have always endeavoured to write what I think about all kinds of things and for a long time, it was about HR.  The reality is that these days I don’t think about HR much more than I have to…I don’t lie awake at night imaging a better performance management system or how to incorporate gamificaton into our recognition program or how best to demonstrate the ROI of HR on business lines.

If work keeps me awake, it’s because there is a difficult conversation I need to have with a manager or I am trying to figure out how the hell I am going to do all that needs to be done in a timeframe that feels like it’s shrinking.

Forget dreaming of innovative HR practices and key metrics…I dream of falling down the rabbit hole and how long it will take me to reach the bottom.

I admire those individuals that are able to create links between the what exists and what can be.  The people who question and challenge.  The people that make me stop and think.  I will continue to follow and read those that continue to inspire me.

As for whether people feel the same about my drivel. To each their own and I respect your choice to move along.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Shooting myself in the foot

  1. it sounds like you’re at a point in your life when you need to consider closing out the old hr blog and opening up a new “store front” that purveys what it is you really want to talk about. btw, i’m curious if your weekend ponderings have lead to anything inspiring…

Leave a Reply

