6 Signs That You Should Keep Your Blog

I recently grumbled that there is a lot of blah, blah, blah out there, particularly in the realm of HR.

I am sure this is prevalent in all areas, but since I don’t read blogs written by accountants or econometricians, I can only surmise that there are only so many ways you can bitch about the Sarbanes-Oxley Act or roll your eyes about having to explain linear regression…again.

And one of the surest signs that things are heading south is when you have to resort to the How To List.

Oh and not just any How To List. But a list that will solve all your problems.  A list that is composed of items of such blatant common sense that it will smack you in the face with its true-ness.  A list that will simplify and reduce complex issues like relationships, emotions, and strategic human resources to five easy steps.

Now it bears pointing out that the How To List  is a distinctly different breed than the listing of items.  One is the entire message, the other is purely the medium.

I am not anti-list.  I am anti sell-out.

Recently I explored the idea of sharing my wisdom and wit when I was asked to write a few posts for another blog.  It was a paid gig and I thought, why not give it a g.  Well, first let me clarify that in my naiveté, I mistook “contribute content” for “”writing blog posts”.

That was my first lesson.

I was then asked to submit sample work, which I did in the form of links to selected blog posts that I was particularly proud of (read: had no swearing in them), as well as potential post topic ideas.

The topics were somewhat approved and I was then given some guidance in terms of word count (completely understandable), the target audience (a new concept for me, as I have never assumed there was an audience), and finally the format: all posts were to be in the form of “how-to lists”, ideally with five bullets. No other writing was really necessary (and I suspect at risk of being edited out).

That was my second lesson.

If sarcasm is the sour cream of wit, then how-to lists are the saltine crackers of blog posts.

Needless to say, after serious consideration and deliberating, I decided to pass on this golden opportunity to sell my soul.  And to celebrate, I am going to include a list of six (not five!) reasons why I am going to keep plugging away at my blog.

  1. Someone has to stay old school and keep balance in the universe.
  2. Because when @neilmorrison  tips his hat, it’s generally a good sign.
  3. I finally found something new to vent about (and it’s not HR).
  4. I discovered that it is possible to have an engaging conversation through post comments.
  5. I now have a muse/enabler who is both inspiring and double-daring me to keep going.

And the final reason I am going to keep my blog going:

  1. Because I like it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “6 Signs That You Should Keep Your Blog

  1. Yay! Go Julie – I love your blogging! I took a little time off my blog (and the blog scene really), but am very happy to be back at it (and have found branching out from talking only about HR to be a really nice change of pace). Keep at it, pretty please 🙂

Leave a Reply

